top of page

The Beginning

When I first decided to start my own Pedicab company in Los Angeles, there was a bit of doubt that nearly stalled the idea through bureaucracy. The true nature of any business in Los Angeles has a clemency to existence. This is where one can find a tragedy in nearly every service-field industry, known. These industries thrive today because they've improved upon their vision and made steps to meld their plans around it. These days, the trend to facilitate the "green-earth" initiatives, herald by fretful politicians, have available affluence to who either hangs on to dead policies or evolve. To be honest, it was the right time and niche for The Pedicab's emergence.

In perpetual summer for 8 months, the demand was basically there but not available when most customers/tourist haven't a idea that such a benefit existed for their leisure. The Pedicab presented not only a viable reason to concierge services in a relaxed setting but also a part of the "green-earth" initiative for cleaner air in a city, notorious for its population of car owners.

Though it can be pretty tough to get city council to see the advantages of the Pedicab's utility, the use of bike lanes does come under question to size and speed. Because the Pedicab is human-powered, there are no carbon emissions and just one day, maybe, there'd be a 3-wheeler trike lane that says: Pedicab only - This lane is keeping us all healthy.

The best feeling is learning how this industry works and the many types of

people who choose this option as a reliable source of income. Especially when it comes to uniqueness. Upon sight, public reaction is mixed though children who think the Pedicab is a magical chariot to have fun in and in some cases, have demanded my present ferry to be done quickly, so they can ride the "pretty bike" now. Their parents mostly chase me down with the joyful request and are acknowledged in confidence of my return. In that sense, I wouldn't dream of ruining a mothers' day.

As I studied more, the Rickshaw Transport industry flourishes with newer, more innovative Pedicabs constructed. With the use of a storage and maintenance facility, many of us envision human-powered, cycle transportation as an advertisement avenue and know it to be one of the futures' brightest and expandable coastal markets. The best way to learn the business, I thought, was to dive in head first. The first sight of my Pedicab had me hooked. I was ready to ride. After a swift training session, I attempted to ride my first "tuk-tuk" of 30 miles through a mountains, to get home. As I approached a third of the way, I found a bike shop and went straight to the accessories department, buying two bulldog locks for security. I didn't want to tire myself out and wake up to have my Pedicab stolen. Pressing onward another 15 miles, I found an art school and locked the Pedicab, hoping all the staff members would think it was to be used as an art project. When they saw what it was, they immediately took the time to help with decorating it. For the most part, it worked but I was exhausted and not in the best shape. So calling a friend, he let me use his truck to get it the rest of the way home.

As I became more accumulated to the Pedicab, I decided to give it a trial run. My first territory was the Leimert Park area. $1.00 rides around the

park. This was when I lost a lot of weight, riding on two flat tires and

overly tightened wheels, which gave me a great deal of friction and drag.

(What a workout!) I later upgraded my routine by inflating the tires and loosening the bolts, applying oil and grease where necessary. The mechanical differences became easier to manage. This led to upgrading the prospectus of the business and I set my sights on Venice Beach. It was hard work just to secure the Pedicab at a distance I couldn't facilitate at home. I then got some stickers, erected a color scheme, bought 8 neon-green shirts and had my company name and logo, embroidered. With my head held high in determination; L.A. Pedicabs was born.

The cab stimulated a lot of new ideas. I met others in the industry, hired

a driver and split what was made that day. Soon, I got my first advertisement campaign from Santino's Pizza, for a month. Just as things were going smoothly, my first first employee returned the Pedicab with a slightly bent front wheel, the seat and seat pole missing and sand

in parts crucial to the operation of the Pedicab. That was quite enough to remove the slackard from any mode of responsibility towards me or the Pedicab.

I to go back to being a full-time Pedicab driver. Partially when my ex-driver shut down our digital calender, thus causing us to miss 2 beneficial opportunities that would've increased our visibility and quality of customer service. This was an important lesson learned. In it I settled the manner by giving a refund, with a great deal of apologies rendered. The day I missed that job, became another opportunity when I was approached by my

first investor. This led to an alliance with a manufacturer that

can take us into expansion of the business. Our new carriages are designed to ferry our riders in comfort and safety, throughout the coastal region of California.

The L.A. Pedicab business is a constant evolving study of business and expansion, along this welcomed journey. Now, the time has come. The cycle is complete and my manifestation is developing nicely. What could be better than to get paid to exercise? L.A. Pedicab is more than a "working workout." It's a lifestyle to a healthier concept in touring and sightseeing, no matter where the customer is.

bottom of page